PDP’s Obaseki Wins Edo State Governorship Election + Full Results

Spread the love

The Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC) has declared Edo Governor Godwin Obaseki re-elected.

Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, the returning officer for the Edo state governorship election and vice-chancellor of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources announced the PDP candidate, Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the Edo 2020 Governorship Election.

Mr Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat his main rival, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who had 223,619 votes. He also won in 13 of the 18 local government areas and thus scored more than 25 per cent of votes cast in two-thirds of the local governments in the state to satisfy the second constitutional requirement to be declared governor.

Mr Obaseki won his first election in 2016 as a candidate of the APC, principally supported by Adams Oshiomhole, the immediate past governor and former chairman of the APC. Mr Ize-Iyamu was then the candidate of the PDP.

But in the course of his term as the governor, Mr Obaseki became estranged with Mr Oshiomhole, causing an epic political battle now capped off with his victory today.

The battle contributed to the fall of Mr Oshiomhole as the chairman of the APC. But Mr Obaseki also could not get that party’s ticket and he had to switch to the PDP with his deputy, Phillip Shaibu.

READ ALSO:  'Putin, have some tea': Russian city holds eighth anti-Kremlin protest

Days ahead of the election, APC leader and former governor of Lagos, Bola Tinubu, had in a recorded broadcast made an “appeal” to the Edo electorate to “reject” Mr Obaseki, whom he dismissed as having no sound democratic credential.

Mr Obaseki won in 13 local government areas, including his home Oredo LGA, which is the largest. Mr Ize-Iyamu, on the other hand, won the remaining five local governments, including his main backer Mr Oshiomole’s Etsako West.

Mr Ize-Iyamu lost his home LGA of Orhionmwmwon.

Results from each of the 18 local government areas

1) Igueben LGA

PDP 7,870 (Winner)
APC 5,199

Total 13170
Total votes cast 13,382

Election materials snatched in Ward 8, Unit 2
2) Esan North-East

APC 6,556
PDP 13579 (Winner)
Valid votes 20,369
Total votes cast 20,730
3) Esan Central

APC 6,719
PDP 10,794 (Winner)
4) Ikpoba-Okha

APC 18,218
PDP 41,030 (Winner)
5) Uhunmwonde

APC 5,972
PDP 10,022 (Winner)
6) Egor LGA

APC 10,202
PDP 27,621 (Winner)
7) Owan East

APC 19,295 (Winner)
PDP 14,762
8) Owan West

READ ALSO:  Use #EndSARS demands to implement 2014 National Confab – ECWA to President Buhari

APC 11,193
PDP 11,485 (Winner)
9) Esan South-East

APC 9,237
PDP 10,565 (Winner)
10) Ovia North East

APC 9,907
PDP 16,987 (Winner)
11) Etsako West LGA

APC 26,140 (Winner)
PDP 17,959
12) Oredo LGA

APC 18,365
PDP 43,498 (Winner)
13) Esan West

APC 7,189
PDP 17,434 (Winner)
14) Akoko Edo LGA
APC – 22,963 (Winner)
PDP – 20,101
15) Etsako East LGA
APC – 17,011 (Winner)
PDP – 10,668
16) Etsako Central LGA

APC 8,359 (Winner)
PDP 7,478
17) Orhiomwon LGA

APC 10,458
PDP 13,445 (Winner)
18) Ovia South-West

APC – 10,636
PDP – 12,659 (Winner)


APC: 223,619
PDP: 307,955 (Winner)

Total valid votes: 537,407
Rejected votes: 12,835
Total votes cast: 550,242

Join Geezgo for free. Use Geezgo\’s end-to-end encrypted Chat with your Closenets (friends, relatives, colleague etc) in personalized ways.>>


Leave a Reply