Helio Castroneves, 46, wins his fourth Indy 500 in a row.

Spread the love

Helio Castroneves won the 105th Indianapolis 500 on Sunday in front of more than 135,000 people at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indiana.

Castroneves, who also won the race in 2001, 2002, and 2009, is the only four-time winner of the event, joining A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, and Rick Mears. Castroneves overtook Palou for the first time with two circuits remaining and won by 0.4928 seconds.

“It means a lot,” Castroneves said of the reception following his victory. “I’ve been in the sport for a long time, and I hope I have more friends than actual enemies. And even those who don’t like me, I hope they understand that this is a very difficult place to achieve. And that meant we did something very special.”

Castroneves, who was one of the field’s oldest drivers, also became the fourth-oldest winner in Indianapolis 500 history, after behind Al Unser (47, 1987), Bobby Unser (47, 1981), and Emerson Fittipaldi (46, 1993).

After earning the checkered flag at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Castroneves thanked Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady and golfer Phil Mickelson. Both Mickelson, 50, and Brady, 43, have won major tournaments this year.

READ ALSO:  Transfer: Man United goalkeeper bids farewell to teammates, club staff

“I’ve run two races this year and won two races, I’d say that’s pretty good,” Castroneves said. “I don’t know if this is a good comparison, but Tom Brady won the Super Bowl and Phil Mickelson won the [PGA Championship], so here you go. The older guys are still kicking the younger guys’ butts.”

It was the first Indy 500 win for Meyer Shank Racing. Castroneves earned his first three wins at Indianapolis with Team Penske.

Castroneves’ former Penske teammate Simon Pagenaud, who won the 2019 Indy 500, finished third, followed by 21-year-old Pato O’Ward. Ed Carpenter finished fifth.

The top ten were completed by Santino Ferrucci (sixth), Sage Karam (seventh), Rinus VeeKay (eighth), Juan Pablo Montoya (ninth), and Tony Kanaan (10th). Scott Dixon finished 17th after edging Colton Herta for his fourth Indy 500 pole.

Last year, no supporters were permitted to attend the event, which had been postponed from May to August because to the COVID-19 epidemic. Celebrities and fans returned this year to witness a historic occurrence.

READ ALSO:  Scott Dixon reflects on 'wild ride' with Indy series and hopes for future

With an average speed of 190.690 mph, this year’s race was the fastest in Indy 500 history. That shattered the previous record of 187.433 mph, achieved in 2013.



Leave a Reply