Giannis Antetokounmpo leads the Bucks to their first NBA title since 1971, defeating the Suns.

Spread the love

The Milwaukee Bucks defeated the Phoenix Suns 105-98 in Game 6 of the NBA Finals on Tuesday night at Fiserv Forum, capturing their first championship in 50 years.

Antetokounmpo, who won the Bill Russell NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award, is only the seventh player in NBA Finals history to score 50 points or more. In addition to 14 rebounds and five blocks, the two-time NBA MVP had 14 rebounds and five blocks in the win, which gave him his first championship in his young career.

The Bucks joined the 2016 Cleveland Cavaliers, 2006 Miami Heat, 1977 Portland Trail Blazers, and 1969 Boston Celtics as the only teams to win a title after falling behind 2-0 in a series.

Khris Middleton added 17 points for Milwaukee, which had not won an NBA championship since 1971 before this year’s victory. Jrue Holiday had 12 points, 11 assists, and nine rebounds, while Bobby Portis had 16 points off the bench.

READ ALSO:  America's Cup: Fickle winds force race abandonment

Chris Paul led the Suns with 26 points and five assists in his first NBA Finals appearance in his 16th season. Devin Booker added 19 points and five assists, but he shot just 8 for 22 from the field — including 0 of 7 from 3-point range.

Phoenix’s Jae Crowder had 15 points and 13 rebounds, while Deandre Ayton scored 12 points on 4-of-12 shooting.

After three quarters, the game was tied at 77, but Antetokounmpo scored 13 points in the fourth quarter to prevent a Game 7 in Phoenix.

The Suns made their first playoff appearance since 2010, although they have yet to win a title. In three Finals appearances, Phoenix has never won more than two games.



Leave a Reply