China imposes sanctions on Wilbur Ross and six others in the United States.

Spread the love

In retaliation for sanctions imposed by Washington, China announced counter-sanctions against seven US citizens and entities, including former Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross.

Beijing on Friday announced the sanctions are being imposed on Ross as well as Carolyn Bartholomew, chair of U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission; Jonathan Stivers, former Congressional-Executive Commission on China staff director; DoYun Kim of the National Democratic Institute for International Affairs; Adam Joseph King, senior programme manager at the International Republican Institute; and Sophie Richardson, China director at Human Rights Watch.

Sanctions were also announced against the Washington-based Hong Kong Democracy Council.

A representative for China’s Foreign Ministry said the counter-sanctions are being imposed in response to the Biden administration’s July 16 announcement of sanctions against seven Chinese officials.

The counter-sanctions are also a response to the administration warning U.S. businesses against doing business in Hong Kong, where China imposed a national security law in June 2020.

READ ALSO:  U.S. proposes house arrest for 'most dreaded' Taliban prisoners, to end stalemate

According to Foreign Ministry spokesman Zhao Lijian, the warning was intended to “groundlessly smear Hong Kong’s business environment” and “illegally imposed sanctions on several officials of the Central People’s Government’s Liaison Office in the Hong Kong SAR [Special Administrative Region].”

“These acts gravely violate international law and basic norms governing international relations, and severely interfere in China’s internal affairs. China firmly opposes and strongly condemns this,” Zhao said.

China’s announcement came less than 48 hours before U.S. Deputy Secretary of State Wendy Sherman was scheduled to visit China on Sunday.


Leave a Reply